Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

WROY On Air Now

Scott Mareing
Scott Mareing
10:00am - 2:00pm

Closed Session Minutes from Unit 5 School Board Reveal Retirements, Resignations, Reassignments

Following closed session, the board approved retirements, resignations, and reassignments.  Among them, Jayme Cowling has turned in her intent to retire at the end of the 2028 school year.  Michelle Niehaus has resigned as classroom aide and morning supervisor at Washington Attendance Center effective immediately.  Someone else will have to pilot the Carmi White County Lady Bulldogs basketball team next season as Clinton Wolff tendered his resignation from that position.

Reassignments include Kassidy Knight from individual aide at Jefferson Attendance Center to a classroom aide at Jefferson filling a vacancy created by Becky Conner’s resignation.  Madison Gilpin is on the move from individual aide at Lincoln to a classroom aide in the Special Education kindergarten room at Lincoln to fill the vacancy of Taylor Bishop.  Hannah Wineberger will be reassigned as head cook at Jefferson for the remainder of the year after Kim Harris resigned.

Travis Black was approved as the new Junior High baseball coach for the 2024/2025 school year.

Non-tenured teachers approved for re-employment include:

Demi Beuligmann, Travis Black, Nicole Bonan, Jana Bradshaw, Jacob Bridges, Whitney Carter, Bailey Cincotta, Patricia Culley-Sims, Kelsey Hall, John Lamp, Mary Pool, Kelsey Rankin, Grace Sinclair, Teresa Scroggins, Marc Stendeback, Samantha Sutton, Drew Vaupel, Ashley Westfall, and Chad Whitley.

Teachers who will receive tenure at the beginning of next school year include:

Jessica Bailey, Jennifer Barbre, Jamie Burzynski, Karen Camp, Carson Cushman, Jessica Fishback, Cassandra Hutchcraft, Leslie Kessler, Tricia Myers, Tracy Orr, Kelsey Slay, Carlin Smock, Crystal Stallings, and Jessica Williams.

All building administrators were approved for rehire for the upcoming school year as well.  They include Corey Ackerman, Amy Atteberry, Todd Haley, Bart King, Lacey Moore, and Kathy Price.

1 comment
  1. Richard Gwaltney
    Richard Gwaltney
    March 21, 2024 at 8:47 am

    Since when did schools start being called “Attendance Centers”? Is this so the children who get passed on through grade after grade without being able to meet the standards can say “Well, I attended there!” “Give me my worthless diploma so I can go demand $15 an hour for substandard service.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *