Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

Carmi-White County Unit #5 School Board Met Monday Night

The Carmi-White County Unit #5 School District met last night in regular session at the Junior/Senior High School Cafeteria.


The Board approved accepting the donation of Lots Nine and Ten in Block Four of Fackney’s Second addition to Carmi, White County, Illinois from Sharon Dartt and the Dartt family.


In the Superintendent’s report, Brad Lee noted that we are currently one year into the COVID-19 pandemic and they are very proud of the teachers, support staff, administrators and the students and their parents for their efforts to adapt during these difficult times.


Since some students may need additional educational services after this school year is over, the district felt it would be in the best interest to offer those K-12 students who qualify the opportunity to receive tutoring or credit recovery opportunities via Summer School.  Lee stressed that they are still in the early stages of preparation, and considering that the program run from June 1st to the 18th, qualifying students could attend five days a week, the day would run from 8 AM to Noon, breakfast and lunch would be served and transportation would be provided.  Funding for the program would be through the CARES Act and ESSER Fund.


He also noted that the attendance limits at sporting events for the rest of the school year would still be a 50 person limit for indoor events and 20% capacity for outdoor events.  Complete information on this should be out in the next two or three days.


Total revenue for the month of February was $2,885,554, including $53,572 from the 1% sales tax.


In other business, the board approved moving the High School Graduation date from May 18th to Friday, May 21st at 7 PM.


They approved the 2021-22 school calendar and 2021-22 open house, in-service and parent/teacher conference dates.


Approved several resignations:  Carol Potter as a 4th grade special education teacher at Washington School effective at the end of the 2020-21 school year; Sara Rider as building custodian at Lincoln School effective March 12th; Charles “Mike” Jordan as Jefferson/Lincoln Schools full-time custodian effective immediately; Adam Cross as a science teacher at the Carmi-White County High School effective at the end of the 2020-21 school year; and Amy Whitley as Junior High School cheerleading coach effective immediately.


And they approved a donation of $1,500 to the Jefferson School from the Carmi-White County Schools Foundation in support of its program.

It was determined that appointing Board President Andy Acord to preside over a student disciplinary hearing wasn’t necessary.  The board went into closed session at 7:18 PM.


During the Closed Session, Kristen Coe was employed as a Building Custodian at Lincoln Attendance Center for the 2020-202I school year to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Sara Rider.


Hilary Terrell was employed as a Junior High School Special Education Individual Aide for the 2020-2021 school year.

Josh Girten was employed as the 7th Grade Boys’ Basketball Coach for the 2020-2021 school year to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Justice Stubblefield.


Hannah Gottman and Bethany Scates will placed on tenure at the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year.


First year certified staff members MaKenze Atteberry, Kaylea Chappelle, Julie Moore, Tricia Myers, Tracy Orr, Storm Santos, Carlin Smock, Crystal Stallings, and Jessica Williams were re-employed for the 2021-2022 school year.


Second year certified staff members April Benham, Sabrina Cox, Jessica Flannigan, Todd Haley, Kim Hindman, Brenda Lack, Robin Mick, Tara Miller, Whitney Pearce, Felicia Rumsey, Megan Thomas and Rhet Vaughan were re­employed for the 2021-2022 school year.


Third year certified staff members Rachel Attebury, Amy Burgener, Angela Cole, Julie Jackson, Sarah Richards, Ashley Walls, and Shannon Webb were re-employed for the 2021-2022 school year.


School Administrators Amy Atteberry, Amy Dixon, Bart King,  Jarrod Newell, and Kathy Price were re-employed for the 2021-2022 school year.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *