Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Kiki Garcia
Kiki Garcia
Midnight - 4:00am

WROY On Air Now

Keith Summers
Keith Summers
Midnight - 5:00am

School Board Rehires Staff and Announces Tenure

School Board Closed Session Actions


The Carmi White County Unit 5 School Board took a number of actions during the closed session that followed Monday’s regular school board meeting.

That included placing Melissa Dartt. Brittany Griffin, Jean McGarvey, Jara Mitchell, Tina Mosier and Ariana Watts on tenure beginning the 2019/2020 school year.

Rachel Attebury, Tomas Brandt, Amy Burgener, Angela Cole, Julie Jackson, Sarah Richards, Ashely Walls and Shannon Webb were all reemployed for the coming school year. They were all first year certified staff.

Third year certified staff members, Jayme Cowling, Margherita DiMaggio and Suzanne Tomm were reemployed.

Adam Cross, Hannah Roe and Bethany Scates, all second year certified staff were re-employed for the coming school year.

In other actions; Sara Richards was reassigned as a third grade teacher at Jefferson Attendance Center.

Sabrina Cox was employed as a fourth grade teacher at Washington.

Cindy Francis was reassigned as a Junior High Math teacher for the 2019/2020 school term. She fills a vacancy created by the resignation of LeaAnn Draper.

Kim Owen was reassigned as the junior high social studies teacher.

Ariana Watts was reassigned as high school English language arts teacher to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Alex Aud.

Adminstrators re-employed include Amy Atteberry, Amy Dixon, Bart King, Jarrod Newell and Kathy Price.

A request from Lauren Saunders for a leave of absence  for the 2019/2020 school year was also accepted.