Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

WROY On Air Now

Scott Mareing
Scott Mareing
10:00am - 2:00pm

Severin Announces Grant Money for Local Public Schools

On Friday, State Representative Dave Severin (R-Benton) announced that the following school districts will be receiving grant money from the Secretary of State’s School Library Grant Program.

Benton CHSD #103 will receive $750, Benton CCSD #47 $819, Carterville CUSD #5 $1,571.25, Christopher Unit School District #99 $750, Johnston City CUD #1 $794.25, Marion CUSD #2 $2,875.50, Crab Orchard CCU #3 $750, Sesser-Valier CUSD #196 $750, Thompsonville CUSD #174 $750, and Frankfort CUSD #168 $750

“The School Library Grant Program is intended to provide more library books and materials for public school students across the state.” Rep. Severin said “I am excited to see so much money is coming to the Public Schools in our district. I know from my experience as a member of the Benton School Board, libraries often times get short changed in favor of other school programs. These funds will greatly help our Public Schools provide their students with access to quality Libraries.”

Statewide, the program awarded 1.2 million dollars to public schools. Qualifying school districts had to apply for the grant and have a functional library in the district. The amount of money each district received was based off of school enrollment from the Illinois State Board of Education.

“As a former public school teacher and administrator, I know our school libraries are very important in helping students learn and prepare themselves for the future,” said Illinois Secretary of State and State Librarian, Jesse White. “Illinois was the first state to implement a school district grant program for libraries, and I am pleased that we can continue to provide them with some of the financial resources they need to produce well-educated students.”