Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Rush Hour Rodeo
Rush Hour Rodeo
2:00pm - 6:00pm

WROY On Air Now

John Summer
John Summer
2:00pm - 7:00pm

CWC Unit 5 Board considers full time resource officer

Carmi Police Chief Jason Carter addressed the Board about the possibility of partnering with the Carmi Police Department to have a school resource officer for the 2018-19 school year.  Carter said he spoke to several school districts, including Mt. Carmel, Flora and Carbondale that have such officers to compare costs.  It would cost Carmi and White County about $46,800 to fund a resource officer’s yearly salary, which are in line with others districts.  They would have to undergo about four months of training.  There is a possibility of grant money being available down the road, but not for a long time.  The Board members were receptive to the proposal.  Carmi would have to approve it first and they and the District would then draw up an agreement to sign.

The Board gave approval to allow Lansford Architect’s Inc. To seek bids to replace the roof over the small gymnasium and to sand the large and small gym floors at the junior/senior high school.  Also to install two new wood light poles, reinstall light fixtures and transformers at the football field.  The total cost could be about $130,000.  Work would be done over the summer and the projects can be paid for with health life safety dollars or from capital projects using revenue from the 1% sales tax.

In the Superintendent’s report, Brad Lee said on Sunday, February 25th, the basement at Washington Attendance Center flooded due to the malfunction of a sump pump.  Custodial staff removed the majority of the water.  Slay’s Restoration dried out the floors, sanitized and removed carpet from three rooms.  Insurance will pay to put tile back down and pay for new tiling in the cafeteria.

The Carmi Church of God has offered to pay for gravel to cover the space between the sidewalk and the street on the south side of the Jefferson Attendance Center.  John Pat Dartt has offered to spread the gravel at no cost to the District.  He also purchased the lot northwest of the property and is going to clean it up and remove the trees that border the parking lot.

Spring break is March 26th to the 30th, this year’s high school prom will be held in New Harmony, Indiana on Saturday, April 7th at 7 p.m. and state testing is coming up next month.

In other business the Board approved the 2018-19 school calendar and open house, in-service, and parent/teacher conference dates.

They renewed membership in the ISHA for another year.

Three busses were declared surplus property and the Board accepted a bid for them from Johnson Truck Sales totaling $2,668.

The Board accepted the retirement of Cynthia Smith as a special education classroom aid at Brownsville School at the end of this school year, the resignations of Timothy Knight as a building custodian at the junior/senior high school effective march 2nd and Gail Dusch as Brownsville School building secretary effective March 16th, a leave of absence request from Shirley Rirsch through the end of this school year and a total of $514 in donations to the District and to Brownsville school.

The Board went into closed session at 7:50 p.m.

In the closed session, the Board hired Kimberly Anderson as a special education bus aide, Amber Carroll as the junior high secretary and junior/senior high guidance office secretary, and Tomas Brandt as a high school social science teacher.

The Board also approved Kevin Brown as a volunteer assistant high school track coach, employed Daniel Bugera as a building custodian at the junior/senior high school, and approved CEO teacher Tracy Orr to transport students in a district vehicle next school year.

Eric Gholson was approved as a volunteer archery coach, and Amy Rice was reassigned as the district special education coordinator and part time special education teacher. Kathy Price was employed as the principal for the Brownsville School for next year.

The Board approved Zandrea Hafenrichter, Beth Hart, Megan King, William Knight, and Danielle Shain to be placed on tenure at the beginning of next school year, re-employed first year certified staff members Adam Cross, Hannah Roe, and Bethany Scates and second year certified staff members Jayme Cowling, Margherita DiMaggio, and Suzanne Tomm, and third year certified staff members Melissa Dartt, Brittany Griffin, Jean McGarvey, Jara Mitchell, Tina Mosier, Michael Rushing, and Ariana Watts for the next year.

And administrators Amy Atteberry, Amy Dixon, Bart King, and Jarrod Newell were also re-employed for next year.