Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Kiki Garcia
Kiki Garcia
Midnight - 4:00am

WROY On Air Now

Keith Summers
Keith Summers
Midnight - 5:00am

Consolidated General Election; Tuesday

Consolidated General Elections


Tuesday, April 2 is Election Day around the state as voters go to the polls to elect city, village trustees and school board members.

There are no races in the City of Carmi, where Jeremy Courson of Ward One; Michael Knight of Ward Two; Mark Blake of Ward Three and James Totten of Ward Four are running unopposed. All but Totten are incumbents. Totten is running for the seat formely held by Lance Yearby, who did not seek reelection due to his job responsibilities.

There are races in the Grayville election as Travis Thompson and Andy Brock are running for mayor, a position held for many years by Joe Bisch, who is not seeking re-election.

There is also a race for commissioner as David Jordan, Tyler Howell, Bob Stroud, Donovan Baldwin and Chris James are all seeking a commissioner seat and only four can be elected.

Burnt Prairie voters will be electing trustees. Charlie Kempton and Dayne Dozier are running unopposed. There is no candidate for Burnt Prairie village president.

Bruce Morlock, Cindy Westfall, Nikki Jacobs, Nancy Osborne and Rob Whitley are all seeking seats on the Crossville Village Board. All are running unopposed as three are running for four year terms with Osborne and Whitley seeking two year terms.

Enfield voters also have no races to decide, as Jeannie Palmiter is running for a two year unexpired term. Mary J. Dormer, James (Jim) Bolin and Terry Harrison are running for four year terms unopposed.

Eli Frashier, Donna Pollard and Nina Hankins are running for trustee in Maunie, with no opposition.

There are no candidates in the village of Mill Shoals.

Wayne McKenzie, Charles (Skip) Land and Kevin Pettijohn are all unopposed for the Norris City Village board.

Norris City voters will also vote on library trustees. Joseph Skaggs and James Crouch are seeking those two seats.

Cindy Maurer and Kerri Whitley are running unopposed for four year terms on the Phillipstown board. Trish Johnson is unopposed for a two year term.

Springerton voters will vote on Lawrence Winter, Betty Rush and John Hyatt Jr. for four year terms. Amanda Hyatt is seeking the two year term on the Springerton board.

In New Haven, Martin Duffy, Amy Jones and Ragyn Edmonds are running unopposed for the village board.


There will also be school board elections;


There are three people running for the Grayville School Board. David Hall, David Kleinschmidt and Mark Campbell are all running unopposed.

Paul Black, Matthew McArthy and Lincoln Hobbs are seeking seats on the Norris City school board, with no opposition.

Thomas Scates, Barbara Mitchell, Andy Acord and Brent Hammell have no opposition on the Carmi White County School Board, as voters will be electing four members to the school board.

Local voters will also be asked to vote for trustees of Rend Lake College District and the Illinois Eastern College District, as well as Southeastern Illinois College. Voters will also be asked to vote for a member of the Regional Board of Education board. Patrick Abell of Gallatin County is running unopposed for that six year term.