Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

WROY On Air Now

Scott Mareing
10:00am - 2:00pm

Carmi White County School Board Announces Personnel Changes During Monday Night Meeting

The Carmi-White County Unit #5 School Board met Monday night at the Junior/Senior High School cafeteria for about half an hour.

Scott Mareing was there and has this report…

The board approved a resolution authorizing the issuance of general obligation bonds.  With the revenue from the 1% sales tax, they could sell up to, but no more than $11 million in bonds.  These bonds would help pay for either renovations to Lincoln, Jefferson, or Washington schools or a new elementary building, paid for by the 1% sales tax.  This is the first step of a three phase process in selling the bonds.

The board members agreed with District Transportation Director Bart King’s recommendation that they start the process to lease-to-purchase five new buses for the 2022-23 school year, while trading in three buses.  The cost of the new buses would be $72,000, or $14,400 per bus per year for five years.  It’s estimated the trade-in on the three used buses would be anywhere from $30 to 35,000 per bus, which would bring revenues in to the district.  And they would seek a lower interest rate from a local bank, possibly 2 ½ to 3%.

Revenues for the month of February totaled $941, 570, with $80,274 from the 1% sales tax.  There were no local taxes collected last month, but there will be some in the March report.

In the Superintendent’s Report, Brad Lee congratulated CWCHS Fine Arts Department Director Sherry Passmore as well as the students in their performance in the spring musical “Guys and Dolls” held this past weekend.  He also reminded everyone that students and staff will be on spring break from March 28th to April 1st.

In other business, the three year contract with Bushue Human Resources for human resource support and insurance consulting services was renewed.  The cost is $7,380 in year one, $7,440 in year two, and $7,500 in year three.  This type of service has resulted in significant savings to the district.

Approved were the resignations of Kaylee Chappelle as Carmi-White County High School assistant softball coach and Ben Bradshaw as sixth grade boys basketball coach, both effective immediately; and Trena Black as High School cheer sponsor, Jarrod Newell as Carmi-White County High School principal and vocational director, and Allison Childers as Carmi-White County High School math teacher, all three at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

The 2022-23 school calendar and 2022-23 open house, inservice, and parent-teacher conference dates were approved.

And the board renewed their membership in the ISHA in order to compete in high school association athletics and musical events, with next year’s fees being waved.

The board went into closed session at 7:29 PM to discuss personnel and the purchase or lease of real property.

Several personnel changes were decided at Monday night’s closed session of the Carmi-White County Unit #5 School Board meeting.

Five for the 2022-2023 school year: Nichole Bonan as Pre-kindergarten Teacher at Washington School to fill the vacancy created by the reassignment of Bethany Scates, Kelsey Rankin was reassigned from RtI Aide to a Pre-kindergarten Classroom Aide at Washington School to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Nathelee Huff, Crystal Stallings was reassigned from a Junior High School Part-time ELA/Math Interventionist to a Junior High School Science Teacher to fill Amber Ochs’ vacancy, John Lamp will be a High School Agriculture Teacher to fill the vacancy from Megan Thomas’ resignation, and Leslie Kessler will be a High School ELA Teacher and fill the vacant position there.

One for the 2021-22 school year: Kelsey Rankin will be the High School Assistant Softball Coach to fill the vacancy created by the reassignment of Kaylea Chappelle.

Rachel Attebury, Amy Burgener, Angela Cole, Julie Jackson, Sarah Richards, Ashley Walls and Shannon Webb were placed on tenure at the beginning of the 2022-23 school year.

First year certified staff members Jennifer Barbre, Carson Cushman, Tessa Hargrave, Griffin Hart and Kelsey Slay; second year certified staff members MacKenze Attebury, Kaylea Chappelle, Julie Moore, Tricia Myers, Tracy Orr, Caitlin Smock, Crystal Stallings and Jessica Williams; and third year certified staff members April Benham, Sabrina Cox, Jessica Flannigan, Todd Haley, Kim Hindman, Robin Mick, Tara Miller and Whitney Pearce, were all re-employed for the 2022-23 school year.

And finally, administrators Amy Attebury, Amy Dixon, Bart King and Kathy Price were all re-employed for the next school year.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *