Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Kiki Garcia
Kiki Garcia
Midnight - 4:00am

WROY On Air Now

Keith Summers
Keith Summers
Midnight - 5:00am

WYSE Winners

WYSE Winners


Nearly 130 high school students from the region competed in the Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) regional exams in early February.

Exams administered during the three levels of WYSE competition are designed to test the student’s knowledge of biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, Math and physics.

Regional winners qualified for sectional exams, which will be held March 14 at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale. Illinois State finals will be held April 16-19 in Champaign. The small school division will compete on April 18 and the bigger schools will compete on April 19.

Small School Team winners were Gallatin County, first place; Hardin County, second place and NCOE High School finished in third place.

Large school winners were Carmi White County; first place. Harrisburg, second and Eldorado was third.

Kiley Brown of Gallatin County finished first in biology and chemistry for small schools.

David Mathews of Gallatin County took first place in computer science. Brock Seely, also of Gallatin County picked up a first in engineering. Hardin County’s Broden Oxford finished first in English, Mathews finished first in math, while Jaden Barten of NCOE finished first in physics.

Lydia Miller of Harrisburg took first in biology for larger schools. Harrisburg’s Anthony Cortes Sanchez finished first in chemistry. Gunner Peterson of Carmi White County took first in computer science. Dakota Fleck of Carmi White county was first in engineering graphics.

Harrisburg’s Lydia miller also finished first in English. Troy Yang of Carmi-White County was first in math and Landon Gates of Harrisburg finished first in physics.

Carmi students that participated in the competition included Sloane Barbre, Gia Berekashvili, Marie Blankenberger, Cole Blazier, Emily Brown, Angie Davis, Dakota Fleck, Ben Foote, Gabby Hoffman, Brenton jones, Kelsi Kessler, Jacob Lamont, Seth Mann, Mason Marshall, Gunner Peterson, Logan Spruell, Justin weaver, Dillon Womach, Matthew Woods and Troy Yang.