Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

Three Miner Trainings coming to RLC in November and December

Several training courses for aspiring miners and mining professionals are coming to Rend Lake College’s campus next month. All trainings will be held on the Ina campus.

First up is a 48-hour Inexperienced Miner Training for Surface and Underground miners, scheduled for 4:40 – 10 p.m. on nine evenings: Monday, Nov. 6 – Wednesday, Nov. 8; Monday, Nov. 13 – Thursday, Nov. 16; and Monday, Nov. 20 – Tuesday, Nov. 21. The class costs $165, and attendees must pre-pay and pre-register.

An Annual Refresher Training for Surface and Underground miners is scheduled for 8 a.m. – 6:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 17. The cost of the class is $50.

Finally, four one-day MSHA (Mine Safety and Health Administration) Electrical Qualification Retraining classes are set for 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. on the following dates: Friday, Nov. 17; Saturday, Nov. 18; Friday, Dec. 8; and Saturday, Dec. 9. Attendees need only attend one class at the cost of $50.

For more information or to register for any of the trainings, contact Sally Heathcoat at 618-437-5321, Ext. 2373.