Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

WROY On Air Now

SIC Student Government Members Inducted

The SIC Student Government Inauguration was held Thursday, Sept. 26, and included 18 students.


The 2019-20 Student Government Executive Officers are (pictured l-r) Camden Schiff of Harrisburg, President; Jacob Rice of Marion, Vice President; Jenn’na Wurst of Norris City, Secretary; and Carter Reed of Harrisburg, Treasurer. Not pictured: Bridget Payne of Harrisburg, Student Trustee.


Southeastern Illinois College held its Student Government Inauguration Ceremony for the 2019-20 academic year Thursday, Sept. 26.

The SIC Student Government is the only recognized representative body for the student community, and it has a number of different functions from helping fund many student-run organizations and addressing student issues and concerns, to proposing resolutions that bring about change in the academic and social life of campus. The student body elects members of the student government. Students interested in serving must complete a petition with one faculty signature and 25 student signatures. Meetings are held twice each month and are open to anyone interested.

The SIC Student Government is active in promoting student involvement in school activities. They have played, and still continue to play, a huge role in various campus life improvements throughout the years, such as the purchase of new furniture in the Student Lounge, the painting of a mural in the cafeteria, patio renovation, Leap Day Tornado Memorial, and are currently working on a project to honor military veterans on campus. They also host many activities, such as video game tournaments, tornado relief fundraisers, organ donation sign-ups, blood drives and political forums.

The student government is sponsored by political science instructor Matt Lees and events coordinator Kellye Whitler.