Next month, Rend Lake College is offering a new option for local women to obtain their Illinois Concealed Carry permit. On Friday, March 17 and Saturday, March 18, the first women’s only Concealed Carry class will be open to any woman over the age of 21.
Ron Meek, RLC Criminal Justice Associate Professor and instructor for the Concealed Carry class, said there are several reasons for the college to host a women-only event.
“This class has been recommended by many female RLC employees and faculty to reduce the intimidation factor and make the class one gender,” said Meek. “This setting allows us as instructors to tailor the class specifically to the audience.”
On day one, the firearms safety and marksmanship classroom portion of the course will focus on safety, principles of marksmanship, loading and unloading, cleaning, and state and federal laws relating to firearms and force. Firearms and ammunition are not to be brought to this class.
The second day will include interacting with law enforcement, recognizing risk factors and situational awareness, identifying threats, and learning about range rules and procedures. The live fire practice and qualification will also occur on the RLC Shooting Range. Students should bring their firearm with 100 rounds of unopened ammunition to be inspected by course instructors.
The class will meet 4 – 10 p.m. Friday and 8 a.m. – 6:30 p.m. Saturday. All classes will meet instructors Meek and Jeff Bullard in the Coal Mine Training Center, Room 107A, on the Ina campus.
The two-day program prepares students to apply for their permit. To qualify, students must complete 30 rounds at 5, 7, and 10 yards with at least 70 percent accuracy. A qualifying shot consists of a shot placed inside the 7 ring of a B-27 target.
Participants who complete RLC’s Concealed Carry training course are eligible to apply for Illinois and Florida Concealed Weapons licenses. A valid FOID card and a driver’s license must be brought to class. Students must attend the entire 16 hours of training, no exemptions will be given. The cost of the training is $150 for in-state residents and $250 for out-of-state residents.
Two additional Concealed Carry classes for any gender are also on the books for later this year: Saturday, May 20 – Sunday, May 21; and Friday, Aug. 4 – Saturday, Aug. 5.
To learn more or to register, contact RLC’s Community and Corporate Education Division at 618-437-5321, Ext. 1714.