Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm

WROY On Air Now

Phi Theta Kappa initiation held at WVC

Phi Theta Kappa Initiates  for 2017, front row, L to R:  Leslie Graham, Miranda  Raber, Kayla Hedge, Elise Thomason, Julia Whittler, StephenieWelsch, Nhi Nguyen, Justin Spear, Deric  Wright, Minto Yamamoto;  back row:  Rae McVaigh, Lauren Goodson, Amanda Hundley, Christy Haase, Kaitlyn Hnetkovsky, Michaela Peach, Raven Lockard, Chandler Madden.  

Twenty students were initiated into the Rho Psi  Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on April 6 at Wabash Valley College.  The officers conducting the ceremony were:  President Sydney Zimmerman, Vice-President Breeanna Henson, Secretary April Dorney, and Treasurer Chloe Benedict.

Phi Theta Kappa Officers conducted the Phi Theta Kappa Initiation at WVC.  Pictured, left to right:  President Sydney Zimmerman, Vice-President Breeanna Henson, Secretary April Dorney, Treasurer Chloe Benedict. 

The 2017 Rho Psi initiates were:  Connor Berry, Lauren Goodson, Leslie Graham, Christy Haase, Kayla Hedge, Kaitlyn Hnetkovsky, Amanda Hundley, John Lamp, Raven Lockard, Chandler Madden, Rae McVaigh, Nhi Nguyen, Michaela Peach, Miranda Raber, Justin Spear, Elise Thomason, StephenieWelsch, JuliaT Whittler, Deric Wright, and Minto Yamamoto.


Presentation of the Phi Theta Kappa 2017 scholarship was by Faculty Advisor Brenda Phegley.  Since 1984, the local Rho Psi Chapter has awarded $9,600 in scholarships.  Students must complete an application form and write an essay.  Applicants are judged on G.P.A., involvement in activities, and the essay.  The recipient of the $100 scholarship is Sydney Peterson.

Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship Recipient:  Sydney Peterson, left, proudly accepts the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship from Faculty Advisor Brenda Phegley.

Sydney is from Mt. Carmel.  While attending WVC, she has received recognition on the CEO’s Honors List.  She has also served as President of TRIO Club and Secretary of the Business Club.  Other activities include serving as a Valley Days tour guide and participating in Red Cross blood drives.  Sydney is a member of Heartland Worship Center, and she has been involved in the Great Banquet and participated in mission trips.  She also works at Famous J’s in Mt. Carmel.  Sydney plans to transfer to Oakland City University, where she will major in Business Administration with a concentration in Human Resources.


Phi Theta Kappa has recognized intellectual achievement in American two-year colleges since 1918.  Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is conferred on those students of the community college who have “established academic excellence as judged by the college faculty.”  Initiates must have completed at least one semester of community college work, achieved at least a cumulative 3.5 G.P.A., and must possess qualities of good citizenship.  Since its founding, Phi Theta Kappa has been the national honor society for American community colleges.