Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Kiki Garcia
Kiki Garcia
Midnight - 4:00am

WROY On Air Now

Keith Summers
Keith Summers
Midnight - 5:00am

Phelps Pushes Legislation to Protect Southern Illinois Jobs, Prevent Misuse of State Road Funds

State Rep. Brandon Phelps, D-Harrisburg, is fighting to stop misuse of taxpayer dollars intended for road repair and protect local jobs by working to achieve bipartisan support in a House committee for his constitutional amendment requiring those funds only be used for transportation-related purposes.

“When we pay taxes on fuel, we expect that those dollars will be return to our communities and keep people on the job by repairing roads and highways,” Phelps said. “Unfortunately, Chicago politicians look at our tax dollars as their own personal piggy bank, and have too often taken dollars set aside for road repair to fund their own wasteful pet projects. Their mismanagement hurts our families and our economy. My amendment will put a stop to their games, and ensure our tax dollars come back to Southern Illinois.”

Working alongside the Illinois Chamber of Commerce, Phelps received bipartisan support in the House Transportation: Regulation, Roads and Bridges Committee for his measure to prevent misuse of road funds collected from the Motor Fuel Tax and protect Southern Illinoisans jobs. Phelps’ House Joint Resolution Constitutional Amendment 36 will require that tax dollars collected on the sale of gas will be used exclusively for transportation-related purposes. This will ensure that the money will actually go to adequately maintaining and improving transportation infrastructure.

“So many local jobs depend on well-maintained roads. The goes for the men and women who work to repair our roads and highways, as well as the farms and Southern Illinois businesses that count on reliable roads to transport their products,” Phelps said. “I will continue to fight on their behalf, and work to pass this measure through the House and on to the Senate.”

Brandon Phelps represents the 118th District in the Illinois General Assembly, which includes all or portions of Alexander, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, and Union counties.