Stopped School Buses Picking Up Children
SPRINGFIELD…State Representative Darren Bailey (R-Xenia) announced today that his bill to double the fines on violators who drive around stopped school buses passed out of the Illinois Senate on Thursday. First offense fines would be increased from $150 to $300 and second offense fines will be increased from $500 to $1,000. The bill now heads to the governor for his consideration.
“Thank you to my colleagues in the Senate who see the benefit of this change to help discourage drivers from ignoring when school buses are stopped to pick up or drop off students,” said Rep. Darren Bailey. “These fines are intended to help stop people from putting children in danger. We know that when you hit people in their wallets, they tend to respond because money does not grow on trees.”
Current law requires a driver to stop before meeting or overtaking (from either direction) a school bus stopped for the purpose of loading or unloading students. The law applies to any and all locations including, but not limited to, highways, roadways, private roadways, parking lots, and school property. A full stop is required if the school bus is displaying the visual signals specified in the code (i.e. flashing lights, stop signal arm extended, etc.) and the driver should not proceed until the visual signals cease, the school bus resumes motion, or the school bus driver signals the vehicle to proceed. The law does not require a driver to stop on a four-lane highway when traveling on the opposite two lanes from the school bus.
Passing a school bus while loading or unloading can lead to a driver’s license suspension. Currently, the Illinois Secretary of State will automatically suspend the driver’s license of anyone convicted of violating this law for a period of three months. In addition, the court will impose a minimum $150 (hopefully $300) fine for a first offense plus mandatory court costs. A second or subsequent conviction for this offense within five years of the first conviction will result in a one-year driver’s license suspension and a minimum mandatory $500 (hopefully $1,000) fine.