Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

Big D & Bubba
5:00am - 9:00am

Create custom cards at Rend Lake College

Learn the basics of making unique cards during one of Rend Lake College’s many Handmade Cards classes through the Community & Corporate Education Division. Taught by instructor Carol Payne, refine your skills of two-step stamping, heat and dry embossing, and much more this spring.

In February, focus on creating birthday and Valentine’s Day cards with basic fundamentals. Three sessions will meet from 6 – 9 p.m. in RLC’s district: Monday, Feb. 6 in Pinckneyville; Wednesday. Feb. 8 in Mt. Vernon; and Thursday, Feb. 9 in Ina. Participants need only enroll in one session to acquire all topics.

Learn some advanced techniques in March to create spring-themed cards. Classes will meet from 6 – 9 p.m. Monday, March 6 in Pinckneyville; Wednesday, March 8 in Mt. Vernon; and Thursday, March 9 in Ina.

More advanced skills and the creation of life event cards will arrive in April. Participants will meet from 6 – 9 p.m. Monday, April 10 in Pinckneyville; Wednesday, April 12 in Mt. Vernon; and Thursday, April 13 in Ina.

The final class will focus on summer fun cards and will feature the most advanced card-making practices. Classes meet from 6 – 9 p.m. Monday, May 1 in Pinckneyville; Wednesday, May 3 in Mt. Vernon; and Thursday, May 4 in Ina.

All classes cost $10, plus a $10 supply fee to the instructor. Classes at the Murphy-Wall Pinckneyville campus will meet in room 101. Class attendees at the RLC MarketPlace in Mt. Vernon will meet in room 354. For those participants coming to the Ina campus, classes will meet in the Historic Schoolhouse.

To learn more about these classes, or any others this spring, call 618-437-5321, Ext. 1714. Pre-registration may be done in person, via phone call, or by emailing commcorped@rlc.edu.