Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

7:00pm - Midnight

WROY On Air Now

Joyce Jefferson
Joyce Jefferson
7:00pm - Midnight

Citizen, Small Biz, and Large Biz (of the Year) Nominations Sought

The Carmi Chamber of Commerce is asking the public for nominations for the annual Citizen of the Year, Large and Small Businesses of the Year.  Those awards will be presented at the Chamber’s annual dinner coming up on Monday, October 7th.  Nominations are due by next Friday, August 30th, so you’ll need to get on it.

Chamber president Justin Dartt says nominations can be emailed to [email protected] or dropped off at the Chamber office located next to the Carmi Light and Water office.

Your nomination letter should include information as to why you feel the person and/or businesses are deserving of the award.

A Citizen of the Year has been named in Carmi since 1957, while Small and Large Businesses have been endowed for the past 9 years.t.

A list of all former winners is below:

Citizen of the Year recipients

1957       Rev. Fredrick Hahn

1958       Robert Randolph

1959       Carl G. Anderson

1960       Harold Robbins

1961       C.F. “Bud” Rebstock

1962       Byford G. Karns

1963       William F. Sharp

1964       Earl C. Boehringer

1965       George H. Schanzle

1966       J. Robert Smith

1967       Allen Ball

1968       Herbert G. Bayley

1969       Michael F. Croghan

1970       John Evers

1971       Carl D. McVey

1972       Talmage W. Kisner

1973       Judge Henry Lewis

1974       Mrs. Marie Worlds

1975       Robert G. Brown

1976       Miss Marie Harrawood

1977       Mrs. Ruth Burdette

1978       Miss Mertice Pyle

1979       Roger Heckler

1980       Rev. Frank Brown

1981       Ivan A. Elliott, Jr.

1982       Paul Hayse

1983       Ken Alldredge

1984       Charles Hortin

1985       Ms. Susan Murphy

1986       Gerald Pollard

1987       Morris McCall Family

1988       Mrs. Ruth Musgrave Coulter

1989       Mrs. Anita Peyton

1990       Manley Holt

1991       Charles O “Bill” Williams

1992       Robert Harlan

1993       Gary Edwards

1994       Dr. Charles Schanzle

1995       Phillip Endicott Stocke

1996       Mrs. Suzanne Calvert

1997       Sam & Martha Endicott

1998       Janice Gates

1999       Iva Jean Bayley

2000       Robby King

2001       Betty Brown

2002       Loren Minnick

2003       Archie Brown

2004       Barbara Kearney

2005       Don Winkleman

2006       Roscoe Templeton

2007       Mike Knight

2008       Jimmy Gaines

2009       Scott & Todd Rice

2010       Dan Drone

2011       Tom Logan

2012       Keith Hoskins

2013       David Port

2014       David Campbell

2015       Jack Martin

2016       Tim Gholson

2017       David Templeton

2018       Ralph Anselment

Small Business of the Year Recipients

Plum Street Pharmacy

Hale Body Shop

Campbell Funeral Home

Merle Norman Cosmetics and Boutique


Carmi Vet Clinic

Taylor Eye Care

Nancy J. Winter, CPA

Town & County Barber Shop

Large Business of the Year recipients

Wabash Christian Retirement Center

Geo. N. Mitchell Drilling


O’Daniel Trucking Company

Martin & Bayley

City of Carmi

Little Giant

First Bank

Roark Trucking