Current Weather

WRUL On Air Now

6:00pm - 7:00pm

WROY On Air Now

John Summer
John Summer
2:00pm - 7:00pm

Celebrating 4-H Hall of Fame inductees; Illinois 4-H Foundation inducts 74 honorees

The Illinois 4-H Foundation annually recognizes one 4-H volunteer per county for exemplary service to the Illinois 4-H program as a Hall of Fame winner. This year, 74 new members were inducted into the Illinois 4-H Hall of Fame, the largest inductee class to date.

This year celebrated the 12-year anniversary of the award, said Angie Barnard, director of the Illinois 4-H Foundation. The ceremony was held Saturday, August 20 in the Orr Building on the Illinois State Fairgrounds.

4H Hall of Fame

“These long-time volunteers fully embody what 4-H strives to instill in youth,” Barnard said. “They are caring, dedicated, generous leaders, and the Illinois 4-H Foundation is extremely proud to be able to provide this honor to each and every one of them to thank them for their service to this wonderful organization.”

The Illinois 4-H Foundation established the statewide Hall of Fame in 2004 to honor and celebrate extraordinary 4-H alumni, volunteers, and former 4-H staff. Each inductee received a commemorative Hall of Fame medallion.

“As a result of these volunteers’ years of service and leadership to Illinois 4-H,” Barnard said, “the program they love will continue to create brilliant futures for the young people whose lives it touches.”

Winners include:

Kenny & Kay Schaffnit, Adams County

Kris Hall, Boone County

Kendra Ross, Bureau County

Bryan Hollewell, Carroll County

Linda Thiele, Champaign County

Brian & Michelle Myers, Christian County

Brenda Gilbert, Clark County

Amanda Dial, Clay County

Dave Ratermann, Clinton County

Scott Gossett, Coles County

Janice Travis, Crawford County

Melvin Koester, Cumberland County

Elizabeth Kershisnik, DeKalb County

Stephanie Huffman, DeWitt County

Janet Breen, Douglas County

Tricia Giron, DuPage County

Allen Hornbrook, Edgar County

*Kelly Fryman, Edwards County

Phil Hartke, Effingham County

Renee Whightsil, Fayette County

Christine Hazen, Ford County

Leslie Prior, Franklin County

Cindy Chaffin, Fulton County

Lee Miller, Grundy County

*Cynthia Anselment, Hamilton County

Aaron Leary, Henderson County

Alan VanDeWoestyne, Henry County

Nita Dubble, Iroquois County

Patricia Hildebrand, Jasper County

Catherine Gajewski, Jefferson County

June & Hugh Moore Jr., Jersey County

Anne Herrmann, Kane County

Judy McKinstry, Kankakee County

Joan McEachern, Kendall County

Diane Holmes, Knox County

Jim & Deb Arbet, LaSalle County

Nancy Tufano, Lake County

Rick & Gail Zimmer, Logan County

Janet Pezzelle, Macon County

Alice Tebbe, Macoupin County

Debbie Adamick, Madison County

Susan Knapp, Marshall-Putnam County

Randall Bell, Mason County

Bruce & Victoria Engnell, McDonough County

Chrissy Northup, McHenry County

Ruth & Gerry Poppe, McLean County

Ron Sanert, Menard County

Nellie Goderis, Mercer County

Jim Etherton, Monroe County

Charlie Peterson, Montgomery County

Rosemary Hall, Ogle County

Chasidy Wegrich, Piatt County

Agnes Peile, Pike County

Larry & Teri Carls, Rock Island County

Sonya Perkins, Sangamon County

David Dressel, St. Clair County

Boad Maher, Stark County

Steve Bottino, Stephenson County

Sue Walker, Tazewell County

Buddy Edenburn, Vermilion County

Tammy Walters, Warren County

Glenn Brammeier, Washington County

*Derek Price, White County

From White County 4H:

4H Hall - White Price

“Derek Price is a wonderful, long-time supporter of 4-H and Extension in White County. He was a 10 year member of the ’76 Clovers 4-H club, and has spent at least the past 12 years serving as a volunteer for the ’76 Clovers and also White County 4-H. Derek has served and continues to serve on many committees related to 4-H. He is also a livestock superintendent during the 4-H livestock shows. He has always been willing to volunteer whenever extra help was needed, especially this past spring, when the White County 4-H G.I.F.T. Garden was being established.”

LuEllen Lee, Whiteside County

Dianne Ross, Will County

Elizabeth Carlson, Winnebago County

The Illinois 4-H Foundation raises private funds that are invested in Illinois 4-H programs that provide meaningful, positive development experiences for Illinois youth to develop leadership, citizenship, and life skills. To learn more, visit: