• Flood Advisory for Epworth - Click for Details
    Expires: February 28, 2021 @ 8:15am
    Turn around, don't drown when encountering flooded roads. Most flood deaths occur in vehicles. Be especially cautious at night when it is harder to recognize the dangers of flooding.
    Urban and Small Stream Flood Advisory for... Hamilton County in south central Illinois... White County in southeastern Illinois... Posey County in southwestern Indiana... Spencer County in southwestern Indiana... Vanderburgh County in southwestern Indiana... Warrick County in southwestern Indiana... Daviess County in northwestern Kentucky... Henderson County in northwestern Kentucky... Union County in northwestern Kentucky...
    Until 815 AM CST.
  • Flood Watch for Epworth - Click for Details
    Expires: February 28, 2021 @ 12:00pm
    A Flood Watch means there is a potential for flooding based on current forecasts. You should monitor later forecasts and be alert for possible Flood Warnings. If you live in an area prone to flooding, be prepared to take action should flooding develop. Do not enter or cross flowing water or water of unknown depth, and remember, flood waters are harder to see at night. Never cross a barricaded road.
    Portions of southern Illinois...southwest Indiana and southeast Missouri, including the following areas, in southern Illinois, Alexander, Franklin, Hamilton, Jackson, Johnson, Pulaski, Saline, Union, White and Williamson. In southwest Indiana, Gibson and Pike. In southeast Missouri, Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Perry MO, Ripley, Scott, Stoddard and Wayne MO.
    Until Noon CST today
    A consistent signal for locally heavy rain is forecast, especially tonight. Storm total average rainfall is forecast to range from one to two inches in the Watch area and, with thunderstorms forecast, localized higher totals are possible. This amount of cumulative rainfall will be falling on recently soaked grounds from melted snowfall, so the ability to soak in all this expected rainfall will be compromised and likely to cause flood issues.
Current Weather

Shimkus Selected to Lead Panel Overseeing EPA

Congressman John Shimkus (R, Illinois-15), a senior member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, was selected to chair the panel’s Environment Subcommittee for another six-year term. The subcommittee oversees the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and will now have jurisdiction over the Clean Air Act as well.

“I’m honored and excited to continue working directly on issues affecting central and southern Illinois,” Shimkus said. “The subcommittee will take the lead on reining in the EPA, dismantling the Obama Administration’s anti-coal rules and regulations, and reforming the Renewable Fuels Standard to provide certainty to producers, refiners and consumers.”

As chairman of the subcommittee in the 112th, 113th and 114th Congresses, Shimkus successfully lead a bipartisan update of the Toxic Substances Control Act – a chemical safety law affecting virtually every American consumer. The new law, praised by industry and environmental groups alike, takes a thoughtful approach to protecting people across the country from unsafe chemical exposure by making long needed improvements to the way EPA tests and regulates over 85,000 different chemicals and substances.

“John’s work to enact the most meaningful update to our chemical safety laws in forty years showcase the tenacity and legislative expertise he will bring to bear as he takes the helm of the Subcommittee on Environment,” said Congressman Greg Walden (R, Oregon-02), who chairs the full Energy and Commerce Committee. “He has been a dedicated member of this committee and the future is bright at the Subcommittee on Environment. I know John will work towards enacting solutions that capitalize on our energy abundance and that deliver affordable, reliable electricity, and jobs to folks around the country.”

In addition to chairing the Environment Subcommittee, Shimkus will also serve on the Health Subcommittee, which will work to replace Obamacare, as well as on the Energy Subcommittee and the Communications and Technology Subcommittee.