Current Weather
WRUL On Air Now
Biscuit
6:00pm - 7:00pm
WROY On Air Now
John Summer
2:00pm - 7:00pm

RLC, AHA teaming up to offer Emergency Services training

Rend Lake College is again teaming up with the American Heart Association (AHA) this fall to offer a number of emergency services courses at the AHA Training Center at the RLC MarketPlace in Mt. Vernon.

Among these courses are BLS, CPR and First Aid; Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS); Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS); and Trauma Nurse Core Course (TNCC) trainings. To reserve a seat today, contact the AHA Training Center at 618-437-5321, Ext. 2032. All trainings will be held in Room 221.

BLS, CPR and First Aid

There are several one-day courses scheduled for BLS (basic life support), CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation) and First Aid at the AHA this semester. By definition, First Aid is the assistance given to any person suffering a sudden illness or injury, with care provided to preserve life, to prevent the condition from worsening, and to promote recovery. CPR is one of the lifesaving techniques used in First Aid to help someone whose breathing or heartbeat has stopped.

BLS, CPR and First Aid courses will meet from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on the following dates: Tuesday, Aug. 16; Wednesday, Aug. 17; Tuesday, Sept. 20; Tuesday, Oct. 25; Tuesday, Nov. 15; Wednesday, Dec. 7; and Thursday, Dec. 15.

BLS Instructor courses will also be available this fall on the following dates: Monday, Aug. 15; Monday, Sept. 19; Monday, Oct. 24; Monday, Nov. 7; and Monday, Nov. 28.

ACLS Prep and Renewal

The AHA offers both ACLS Preparatory and ACLS Renewal courses this semester to ready students for the urgent treatment of cardiac arrest, stroke, and other life-threatening medical emergencies. The preparatory class meets from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on the following days: Tuesday, Aug. 30 and Wednesday, Aug. 31; Wednesday, Sept. 14 and Thursday, Sept. 15; Wednesday, Oct. 19 and Thursday, Oct. 20; Tuesday, Nov. 8 and Wednesday, Nov. 9; and Tuesday, Dec. 13 and Wednesday, Dec. 14.

The ACLS renewal courses require one day to recertify, set for 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., on Wednesday, Aug. 10; Wednesday, Aug. 31; Thursday, Sept. 15; Wednesday, Sept. 28; Thursday, Oct. 13; Thursday, Oct. 20; Wednesday, Nov. 9; Tuesday, Nov. 29; Monday, Dec. 5; and Wednesday, Dec. 14.

Students wanting to build on their ACLS training can also inquire about instructor training courses, which are scheduled individually per applicant.

PALS Prep and Renewal

Another two-day preparatory class, PALS, aims to develop the knowledge and skills necessary for students to efficiently and effectively manage critically ill infants and children. The two-day class meets from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 7 and Thursday, Sept. 8; or Thursday, Nov. 17 and Friday, Nov. 18.

For those needing renewal, the one-day course will meet from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 25; Tuesday, Oct. 18; and Thursday, Dec. 8. Students wanting to build on their PALS training can also inquire about instructor training courses, which are scheduled individually per applicant.

TNCC class

The Emergency Nurses Association developed the Trauma Nursing Core Course (TNCC) for national and international dissemination to recognize a standard of trauma nursing knowledge. TNCC is a 16-hour course designed to provide the student with cognitive knowledge and psychomotor skills. The class will meet from 7 a.m. – 5 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 15 and Wednesday, Nov. 16.

Attendees should be registered nurses with at least six months of clinical nursing experience in an emergency care setting. The class costs $300, plus $80 for the textbook.