Current Weather
WRUL On Air Now
Big D & Bubba
5:00am - 9:00am

CWC Foundation trivia night big success

Story and photos provided by Toby Brown

Eighteen teams competed in Saturday’s inaugural Carmi-White County Schools Foundation trivia contest at First Christian Church in Carmi.

The “Stinkin’ Lincolns” won Saturday’s inaugural Carmi-White County Schools Foundation Trivia Night. Team members, left to right, are, first row, Andi Ford, Jeannie McGarvey, Bill McGarvey and Mike Erwin; back row, Brian Tait, Lee Lane, Tom Cook and Doug Ford.

The winning team was “The Stinkin’ Lincolns,” headed by Lincoln School Early Education teacher Jeannie McGarvey. The victors got to choose which teacher would receive a $3,000 grant and they chose McGarvey.

“Early Childhood is often overlooked and people think they will catch up along the way,” McGarvey told the crowd, “but [ages] 3, 4, and 5 are so important. My room is good, but a lot of my stuff is outdated and children with sensory and behaviors that we try to help with ABA… This is truly amazing because my room will benefit, but so will our entire building.

“I have a design for a sensory area so that when students need to take a break, they can. Or when they need extra down time, they’re going to have it — or the start of it anyway. Any additional funding will be taken gratefully. I am so excited that I have to stop or I will start crying.”

Besides McGarvey, the rest of the team was made up of Tom Cook, Lee Lane, Mike Erwin, Bill McGarvey, Andi Ford, Brian Tait and Doug Ford.

The foundation was started last June to assist in promoting academic achievements and school improvement projects. The group has its own Facebook page and can be contacted at [email protected]

Barb Mitchell (right) of the Carmi-White County Schools Foundation congratulates Lincoln School Early Education teacher Jeannie McGarvey (left) after she won a $3,000 grant at Saturday night’s Trivia Night. It capped quite memorable day for McGarvey, who had completed her Master’s work just hours before the contest.

“The board members were very pleased,” said Barb Mitchell of the CWC Schools Foundation. “This was our first major fundraising attempt. The attendance was huge and spirits were competitive in a great way. We hope it is just the beginning of many ways to promote and reward our school system.

“Congratulations to Jeannie McGarvey. We are proud of all our teachers and are excited to see what Jeannie will do for her deserving students.”

Board member Luke Sailer served as emcee for the event and fellow board member Brooks York revealed the correct answers. Four members of the White County CEO program – Brittany Anderson, Faye Yang, Haylie Fulkerson and Josiah Irwin – served as official scorers.

Four members of the White County CEO program served as scorers for the Carmi-White County Schools Foundation Trivia Night. They are (clockwise from the lower left) Faye Yang, Josiah Irwin, Haylie Fulkerson and Brittany Anderson.

Ralph Duvall picked up a door prize for being the military vet with the earliest service date and Don Dixon won a prize for being the former educator with the earliest hire date. The current Kiwanis Teacher of the Year, Alex Aud, also won a door prize after finding a sticker under her chair.

Sponsors and donors for the contest included Whitsitt Farms, First Bank, White County Ford and Chrysler, Sarah and Todd Haley, Lacey and Bill Moore, Washington Attendance Center, Elizabeth Stevens, George Mitchell Drilling Co., White County CEO, Andy Acord of Edward Jones, Botsch & Associates, CPAs, Carmi-White County Junior High, Lynn and Jeff Cantrell, The White County Retired Teachers Association, Brent and Carrie Hammel, Kelli Chapman, Jeremy and Marcie Hoskins, Alex and Denton Aud, Joe and Erica Zieren, Brooks and Anna York, Dave Matheny State Farm Insurance, The Courtyard, Gracie Mae’s Flowers and Gifts, Continental Grain and Barge, Martin and Bayley, Inc., Legence Bank, Roark Trucking, Jack Sailer Farms, Brown Fertilizer and Chemical, Nancy J Winter, CPA, Jarrod and Natalie Newell, Syngenta, Diversified Services, Logo Graphics, Taco Factory, First Christian Church, Barry Cleveland, Karlene and Steve Garrett, Meredith Whitsitt, Melissa Dartt, Peter Dirks, Greg and Julia Grant, and Mary Cook.