WRUL On Air Now
Cathy Taylor
9:00am - 2:00pm
WROY On Air Now
Scott Mareing
10:00am - 2:00pm

34th Annual Corn Growers Seminar to be held January 5th

The 34th annual Corn Growers Seminar is set for Friday, January 5, 2018. As always, the seminar will be held at the Ruritan Building in Geff, according to Gregg Barnard, Wayne County Corn Growers President. The seminar is free and is open to the public.

Registration begins at 8:30 a.m., with coffee and rolls. The program will begin at 9:00 a.m. with timely topics on the North American Free Trade Agreement, new 2018 tax laws and guidelines, results from a nitrogen usage plot in Wayne County, and a spring planting forecast by WEHT meteorologist, Wayne Hart. Wayne has been the Chief Meteorologist for WEHT since 1993 and is now in his 33rd year as a television meteorologist. His First Warning Doppler Forecast can be seen each weekday on WEHT-Local at 4, 5, 6, & 10 pm and on Local-7 at 6:30 & 9 pm.

Senator Dale Righter and Representative David Reis have been invited to provide legislative updates on happenings in Springfield affecting agriculture as well.

A free fried chicken and roast beef dinner will be served at noon by the Ruritans. Following lunch, Kim Holsapple, grain manager/merchandiser with Total Grain Marketing, will present the Marketing Outlook. TGM is one of the largest non-multinational grain companies in the state of Illinois, with the headquarters in Effingham. He is responsible for merchandising the grain of 35 country elevators with a combined storage capacity of over 40 million bushel and the hedging of approximately 80 million bushels of cash corn, wheat and beans per year.

This annual seminar is sponsored by the Wayne County Corn Growers and University of Illinois Extension, in conjunction with the following local agribusinesses: Asgrow/DeKalb, Bayer Crop Sciences, Consolidated Grain & Barge, Dow AgroSciences, DuPont Crop Protection, Fairfield National Bank & Bean Capital Banking Center, FMC Corporation, Monsanto, DuPont Pioneer, SFP, Valent, and Wayne-White Electric Cooperative.